Tuesday, December 22, 2015
This information has been provided by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development and has been forwarded for your attention.

"The Australian Government has imposed restrictions on the carriage of air cargo that has originated from, or transited through, Syria, Egypt, Bangladesh, Yemen and Somalia. The restrictions will be implemented through legislative instruments made by the Hon Warren Truss MP, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, under Section 65B(2)(b) of the Aviation Transport Security Act 2004. The instruments will come into force on Saturday 19 December 2015, and will remain in-force until the instrument is revoked.

The air cargo restrictions will prohibit airlines from carrying any air cargo that has originated from, or transited through, Syria; Yemen; or Somalia. These new restrictions supersede previous arrangements relating to the carriage of air cargo from Yemen and Somalia.

Air cargo that has originated from, or transited through, Egypt; or Bangladesh will be prohibited, except for items that are currently exempt from screening under the Aviation Transport Security Regulations 2005, such as diplomatic bags and smaller items of international mail.

These restrictions apply equally to air cargo carried on passenger and freighter aircraft.

All News | Back to Top

Get social with us and see the latest news items from: